Gettin a Facelift!

25 Jul

No……not me. I’m only 26 years old, what’s wrong with you people?!

Actually, the piece of furniture that got the facelift was my kids’ crayola table! They drag this table from room to room to set up puzzles, play games and build Lego towers. Unfortunately it wasn’t the cutest of tables. This is what it looked like before the facelift.

It’s kind of an eye sore so I was always folding it up and putting it in a corner when it wasn’t being used. Today as I was staring at it, I was thinking of ways to make it easier on the eyes. I actually considered spray painting it, but I kind of love the yellow. After a quick inspection, I saw that the cushions were only attached by 2 little screws and it would be really easy to take apart.

I decided the easiest thing to do would be to just cover the cushions with some new fun fabric. I have TONS of fabric in my craft room so I just grabbed something with yellow in it that would look nice in the living room. I used 1/4 inch staples so that there was no chance of anything poking through and stabbing a child in the butt.

After the cushions were covered I took the top of the table off to cover. Now if you are doing this to a table that kids do messy crafts at or eat at, I would recommend covering the fabric in some clear vinyl so that you can easily wipe it down with a washcloth.

Here is the finished table! Kids were super excited about it!

This project took me under 30 minutes and didn’t cost a thing! Here’s a before and after shot for ya.

What do you guys think?

One Response to “Gettin a Facelift!”

  1. Shelly July 25, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    What an easy makeover! Love it!!!

Leave a Reply

