Reader DIY: Fabulous Fainting Chair

5 Aug

My dear friend Miranda sent me this message yesterday telling me all about her recent project she completed for her daughter’s room! It turned out fabulous and I couldn’t wait to share it with you guys!!!!

This is a fainting chair that one of my neighbors was throwing away. I fell in love with it the first time I saw it when she still had it at her house. Fortunately for me, her little girl has outgrown it. When I saw it by the garbage I emailed her immediately and she told me I could have it!

This is what it looked like when I got it home.

The first step was to clean it. I doused it with soap and used the jet setting on my hose to get off as much of the old paint as I could. After letting it dry I re-spray painted it. I decided to go with Heirloom white, to keep it a little more authentic looking.
At the bottom of the chair it was all broken in. The only way to save it was to put a cushion on it. The fabric I used was just a fun pillowcase that I found at Goodwill. I laid it over the seat of the chair so I could make the end rounded to fit the chair better. Then all that I needed to do was put stuffing in it and sew it up! The white pillow at the top was a pillowcase we already had, so I cut it down to size. Stuffed and sewed.
Viola! A brand new fainting chair my little girl! She loves it!
This chair is one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen! Miranda did a great job restoring something that one person saw as garbage into a beautiful piece of furniture that her daughter will treasure for years……I bet her friend is going to want it back now! ; )
This quick, easy project shows that for a very small amount of money and a little bit of effort you can create something amazing!
If anyone else has recently completed a project or a fun makeover, please send me a message and some pictures! I would love to feature your story!
Leave a Reply

