Finally got our couches!

27 Aug

A couple of weeks ago I impulsively sold our sectional couch. I did not like how the sectional looked in the living room and I wasn’t happy that I couldn’t play around with the positioning of the furniture.  I wanted two separate couches that were lighter in color and of a different material that our dog wouldn’t shred up with his claws. Unfortunately my husband was not very happy with me……apparently he loved the sectional and thought it was super comfortable. Woops!

In the future I will definitely talk these things through with him first……most likely…..okay I can’t make any promises.

This is how the living room used to look.

My baby becomes quite the ham when I get the camera out. People say she takes after me, I have no idea what they’re talking about. ; )

On the upside to all of this, my sister happened to have a couch and loveseat in her basement that weren’t being used and were also in perfect condition. Score!

Since she lives an hour and a half away, it took some time until we found a weekend that worked for both of us to get together. Yesterday we hauled the trailer over there and finally were able to pick em up! I was so excited to get them home and rearrange the living room!

The couches were a little bigger than I had imagined and after moving them around at least 10 times, this is what we ended up with.

It was my husband’s idea to place the rug on an angle and I think it adds a ton interest to the room! The bench under the guitars is definitely crowded and will probably be placed in the den when we get that room all fixed up. I would also like to get some tight fitting white slipcovers from Ikea so that we can throw those in the wash in case my kids mess them up…..which they will.

Here is another angle of our living room.

……and a few more shots for ya.

I think it worked perfectly in my favor having to use our futon as a couch for awhile! It made these new couches feel soooooo comfortable and my husband wasn’t even complaining that they didn’t recline! These couches really brighten up the room and I love that I can move things around whenever I get the urge…….which lets face it, won’t be long.

I also love that I was able to change the whole look of the room by spray painting some vases, make new pillows and paint a new canvas over the couch. It doesn’t have to be expensive to redecorate, as long as you have some basic sewing skills and a few cans of spray paint, you can make a big difference for a very low cost!

Now I just need to convince the hubs to take me to Ikea! : )

2 Responses to “Finally got our couches!”

  1. pillowsalamode August 27, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    I love your room!!! 🙂

    • Create with Cents August 27, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      Thank you so much! I seriously redecorate/rearrange it once a month! lol

Leave a Reply

