Show a Rug Some Love

6 Sep

I’ve come to the conclusion that you can cover ANYTHING! I’m finally seeing things in a new light…… I know, took me long enough. What was once old and worn and probably headed for the garbage, I can now see the potential in. Today I’m going to show you how I covered an old rug. I’ve been making some small changes to my kitchen lately which have made a huge difference. For instance, sewing a new valance, covering the cornice with new fabric and bringing in a new black and white rug from Target. Unfortunately the small rug in front of the sink does not match the rug and looks extremely beat up. This is what we’ve got to work with.

I was complaining about it to my friend Miranda when she came up with the BRILLIANT idea to cover it with fabric! Since I was already planning on tossing it, I really had nothing to lose!

This is the fabric that I had left over from the valance I sewed for the kitchen.

The way that I decided to cover this bad boy is through spray adhesive. This is some heavy duty stuff with a strong odor so it should be done either outside or in a well ventilated room. I used Loctite High Performance Spray Adhesive which works on tons of different surfaces, fabric being one of them. I hauled the rug, fabric, drop cloth, spray adhesive, scissors and of course my camera outside. Of course the hubs was watching and mentioned it would be easier on a hard surface so he gave me a scrap piece of counter top to place under the drop cloth for support.

With spray adhesive you want to coat both surfaces and allow to dry for several minutes so that the surfaces are tacky and will form a strong bond.

Here is an awesome action shot my husband took of me shaking the can. Haha

Started with the rug.

Then I got to spraying the back of the fabric which I had already cut to right around the size of the rug…..I did leave some room to fold the rug over the sides.

After waiting a few minutes, I picked up the rug and placed it face down on the fabric. Make SURE that you have it in the position you want it before pressing the surfaces together……it will bond immediately. Then I sprayed around the edges of the back of the mat so that the fabric would adhere to it.

I waited a few minutes and slowly went around the rug pushing the fabric to it.

I let the whole thing dry outside for about a half hour then brought it into the kitchen.

I seriously couldn’t believe how well it turned out! Covering a rug is so easy and works better than just laying fabric on the floor because it doesn’t get bunched up at all. Here is how it looks next to the new Target rug.

Next time you think about throwing out an old rug that is stained up or just looks outdated, consider covering it with some fresh new fabric of your choice!

2 Responses to “Show a Rug Some Love”

  1. Miranda September 6, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    Looks Great!

Leave a Reply

